You Eat Plastic Every Day. Here's How To Avoid It.

Microplastics are everywhere, including in your body. I spent 24 hours doing everything I could to avoid ingesting them. It shouldn't be this hard.

For the next 24 hours, I'll be on this tiny island, in a house made of only wood and stone, eating only avocados and bananas, drinking only distilled water, and spending my time sorting through salt under a microscope. There will be no coffee. This is serious. Why am I doing this? Well, scientists recently looked for microscopic plastics in human poo, and they found them in every single sample they looked at from people around the world. We swallow tiny little bits of plastic every single day, and it adds up. Each week, we ingest something like a credit card worth of plastic. Every single week! So, to show you where all of that is coming from, I'm going to spend the next 24 hours doing everything I can to avoid ingesting plastic.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Ark's Newsletter to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now