F*@K the Media: I Went to IRAN!

Exploring Iran: A Journey Beyond the Headlines

DON'T TRUST THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA... Travel to Tehran, Iran in 2024 and see for yourself that many Persians LOVE Americans.

Daily life in Tehran, Iran, is not like what you see in the media. It's a cosmopolitan city of 8 million and has several interesting places for tourism. As a tourist in Tehran, you can visit: Milad Tower, the sixth-tallest telecommunication tower in the world. 2: Golestan Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage Site with fantastic mirrored rooms, a marble throne, and decorative paintings 3: Iran National Museum, which has artifacts up to 10,000 years old and original murals from Persepolis, 2,500 years old 4: Darvaz, an outdoor hangout place for Persian people; here I tried Lavashak, a famous Persian fruit leather, Ash Reshteh, a thick green soup; and local beans 5: Saad Abad Museum: a 19th-century complex of palaces set amongst vast, green grounds. And what would a trip to Tehran be without trying the delicious Persian food?? In this video, you'll see me eat "Deezy", one of the most beloved traditional dishes with a very unique preparation. I spent 24 DAYS IN IRAN and am excited to show you just how different the country is from what you might see on television and the news.

Don't trust mainstream media! It brainwashes people into thinking that Iranian people are bad. But if you travel to Isfahan, Iran, in 2024, you'll find friendly and educated Iranian people who love America! I spoke to many lovely Persian people living in Tehran, Shiraz, Yazd, and Isfahan, including taxi drivers and buskers, and they all shared the same views. Persians enjoy American movies, television, and music, and one taxi driver in particular spoke English fluently!

At 5:30 in the morning in Istanbul, my trip to Iran began. Let’s be clear: this is not a political vlog. Iran is a complicated place, but in my travels, I've learned not to trust the media to tell you what the people are really like. I prefer to go and see for myself. As I sit on the plane, staring into the unknown, I can't control my excitement. Am I really going to Iran? I'm in.

After a brief hold-up at immigration, where the officers had never seen an American before, I was finally through. My guide and driver for the next 24 days, Soale, greeted me warmly. Tehran, my first stop, was surprisingly clean and beautiful. My hotel, the Mashad Hotel, offered a view of the Alborz Mountains. My first task was to change some money. With 100 Kuwaiti dinars, I navigated the negotiations until we agreed on a fair rate.

Navigating Tehran’s traffic, we opted for the subway, which, though initially empty, soon became crowded. Despite the crush of people, the air conditioning provided little relief. A brief encounter with the police reminded me of the underlying tensions in the city, but soon we were back exploring the vibrant streets of Tehran.

At the Grand Bazaar, the hustle and bustle were intense. The locals were curious and friendly, often surprised to meet an American. A local perfume vendor demonstrated his craft, and another local introduced me to the Iranian dish, Dizi. This meal involved shredding bread into a stew-like mixture, which was delicious and hearty.

The next day, I visited the National Garden, with its grand wooden doors and historical relics. The area was surrounded by significant government buildings and museums, including artifacts dating back 10,000 years. Next, I explored the Golestan Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage site with stunning royal palaces and museums, particularly enjoying the marble throne room adorned with mirrors.

Later, I visited Darband, a popular local hangout, where I sampled lavashak, a Persian fruit leather. The atmosphere was lively, with street vendors selling a variety of foods. The Sadabad Palace Complex, built in the 19th century, was another highlight, especially the Green Palace Museum.

The Milad Tower, Tehran’s most recognizable landmark, offered a panoramic view of the city from 280 meters high. Although it was cold and windy, the view of the sprawling city of 8 million was breathtaking. My first day in Iran concluded with a visit to Bam Tehran, a scenic viewpoint known as the "roof of Tehran."

As the sun set on my first day, I realized this was just the beginning of my epic journey through Iran. There’s so much more to see, from the Dasht-e Kavir desert and the Caspian Sea to the stone houses of Kandovan and the ancient ruins of Bisotun. Stay tuned as I explore Shiraz, Persepolis, Isfahan, and Ardabil and enjoy the rich Persian cuisine.