Why LOOKING POOR Is So Important

Why Looking Poor Can Be the Key to Financial Freedom

Why LOOKING POOR Is So Important

In a world driven by consumerism and social status, the idea of intentionally looking poor might seem counterintuitive. However, this concept holds significant value in various contexts, offering insights into social dynamics, economic behaviors, and personal philosophies. Here, we explore why looking poor is important and how it impacts individuals and society.

1. Cultural and Social Commentary

Looking poor can serve as a powerful statement against materialism and societal expectations. By eschewing the symbols of wealth, individuals can challenge the pervasive culture of consumerism that equates success with material possessions. This act can highlight the superficial nature of social status based on appearance, encouraging a deeper evaluation of personal worth and societal values.

2. Economic Prudence

Adopting a modest appearance often correlates with frugality and financial prudence. People who intentionally avoid displaying wealth may do so to cultivate the habit of saving and investing rather than spending on transient luxuries. This approach can lead to greater financial stability and long-term wealth accumulation, as it focuses on essential needs over extravagant wants.

3. Reducing Target Vulnerability

In certain environments, displaying wealth can make individuals targets for theft, fraud, or exploitation. Looking poor can be a strategic move to avoid unwanted attention and protect oneself from potential harm. This tactic is particularly relevant in regions with high crime rates or in situations where showing affluence might invite risk.

4. Enhancing Authentic Relationships

When wealth and status symbols are removed from the equation, relationships can be based more on genuine connection and mutual respect. People who look poor are less likely to attract those interested only in material benefits, fostering deeper and more authentic relationships. This authenticity can lead to more meaningful interactions and a supportive social network.

5. Promoting Humility and Gratitude

Adopting a humble appearance can cultivate a sense of gratitude and perspective. When individuals refrain from flaunting their wealth, they may become more appreciative of their blessings and more empathetic towards those with less. This humility can lead to a more grounded and balanced life, fostering a sense of contentment that material possessions alone cannot provide.

6. Encouraging Sustainable Practices

The fast fashion industry and the constant push for new products contribute significantly to environmental degradation. By choosing to look poor and opting for minimalistic lifestyles, individuals can promote sustainability. Wearing second-hand clothes, reusing items, and reducing consumption not only lessen environmental impact but also support a culture of conscious living.

7. Historical and Philosophical Roots

Throughout history, various philosophical and religious traditions have valued simplicity and humility. From Stoicism to Buddhism, the notion of detaching from material wealth to achieve inner peace and wisdom is a common theme. Looking poor can be an embodiment of these timeless principles, encouraging a focus on inner growth rather than external appearances.

8. Leveling the Playing Field

In competitive environments, especially professional settings, outward displays of wealth can create divisions and biases. By maintaining a modest appearance, individuals can help level the playing field, ensuring that merit and ability are the primary criteria for evaluation rather than superficial judgments based on attire or accessories.

Conclusion

Looking poor, far from being a mark of inadequacy, can be a deliberate and meaningful choice with profound implications. It challenges societal norms, promotes financial wisdom, protects against potential dangers, and fosters authentic relationships. By embracing a humble appearance, individuals can cultivate a richer, more balanced life rooted in values that transcend material wealth. In a world obsessed with appearances, choosing to look poor can be a radical act of self-determination and philosophical depth.

Okay, so you guys might notice things look a little bit different right now than usual, and that's because I'm filming at night, which I don't usually do. I actually filmed this entire video yesterday morning, and then I went to start editing it just now, and I realized that I couldn't work with the footage that I had. I can't really explain this; I don't know what's been going on. I have been to the doctor. Today is Tuesday. Since Saturday, I have had a fever, but I'm not sick; like, I don't have a cold, I don't have the flu, and I feel totally fine. But I've had a fever of over 102 for the last four days.

Anyways, I know this is a video about looking poor, but I filmed this video yesterday, and I didn't just look poor; I looked like I was dying. I was so red and sweaty-looking. I was just burning up. So we're starting fresh; we're starting again. With that said, I'm going to end that story time with something actually more relevant to this video story time, which is about when I was growing up.

When I was growing up, we were very poor. I was never homeless—I don't want to make it sound worse than it was—but I was raised by a single mom who had to hustle very hard to keep food on the table, and there was never really money for anything beyond just the basic necessities. Now, as you can imagine, there are a lot of downsides that come from growing up in that environment. Obviously, nobody really wants to be poor, but one of the positives that unexpectedly came out of that entire situation for me was that I learned at a very early age how to really understand the value of money. I learned how to prioritize and to understand what is and isn't important in life.

Because of all of that, despite the fact that a lot has changed in the time since and I'm older and I'm making more money and things are generally better than they were back then, my perspective on money hasn't really changed very much at all. I think it's fair to say that most people want to be rich, or at least they think they do. But in actuality, I don't think people know what it really looks like to be rich. When people say they want to be rich, they think about having a huge house with a backyard swimming pool, about driving expensive exotic cars, about having an unlimited budget to go out, travel, and eat at fancy restaurants, and all of that kind of stuff. They basically want an Instagram-worthy lifestyle.

But in truth, that's not what being rich looks like at all. In fact, trying to look rich like that is probably the absolute worst thing you can do if you actually want to be rich. Looking around today, you would think that basically everybody has money. Even in my average working-class neighborhood, never before have I seen so many Teslas, BMWs, and Mercedes-Benzes driving around. I really just don't know where they've all come from. When a new iPhone drops, everybody goes and stands in line for hours to be one of the first to get their hands on it. And don't even get me started with those $6 trendy water bottles. I don't know, man, maybe I'm getting old. I don't feel old, except for when I see that kind of thing and I'm like, why? What the hell? It's a water bottle. I don't know; I'm probably missing something, but I don't think I'm actually missing anything.

The interesting thing is that, despite all of this, recent surveys suggest that 78% of Americans and 47% of Canadians are living paycheck to paycheck. How is that possible? How can people be living paycheck to paycheck while living these extravagant lives and owning all of these expensive things? Well, the answer, unsurprisingly, is debt. See, as humans, we have this innate desire to feel accepted amongst our peers, and that's normal and not inherently problematic, except for when it comes at the expense of our overall well-being, which unfortunately, it does a lot of the time. We tend to tell ourselves these stories, both consciously and subconsciously, to justify the decisions we make.

Things like, "Well, I work really hard, so I deserve this," or, "When I buy this thing, everybody around me is going to be so impressed and is going to see how successful I am and how accomplished I am," or perhaps most commonly, "Having that thing will make me feel so happy." But it never really does, at least not in the long run. At best, you buy something, you get a short dopamine rush that lasts a few days or maybe a few weeks if you're really lucky, and then before you know it, you're back to square one, looking for something new to lust over in search of another dopamine hit. This is called the hedonic treadmill because you're basically running for your life, chasing after this feeling of fulfillment but not actually getting anywhere at all.

The more people that I meet and talk to, the more I start to realize how strong the tie is between mental health and financial stability. Personal finance is so much more emotional than we tend to realize. So many people spend money to try to fill a void inside of them or to try to cope with some deep-seated level of unhappiness. And the end result is rarely positive. If this sounds at all familiar to you, I would highly recommend giving therapy a try with BetterHelp, who is also sponsoring this video, because therapy can be an invaluable tool for learning about yourself, understanding your mannerisms and behavior patterns, and learning how to make better decisions that will ultimately lead to you living a happier, healthier life in the long term.

BetterHelp is more affordable and more convenient than traditional in-office therapy. All you have to do is click the link in the description box down below, fill out a quick questionnaire, and BetterHelp will custom match you to one of their licensed therapists. You can typically get started in as little as 48 hours. So if you're ready to start taking control of your mental health and living a happier life, head over to Online Therapy or click the link in the description box down below to get started with a special discount on your first month. Thank you to BetterHelp for sponsoring this video.

We are surrounded by people carrying $2,000 handbags that have no money in them, or people driving $80,000 cars who then flip out when gas goes up 10 cents a liter, or people who line up to spend $1,500 on a phone but can't pay their phone bill each month. It doesn't really make any sense. Personally, I don't want any part of that. My 11-year-old car drives me around perfectly well, just as much as a brand new one would. My iPhone 11 does literally every single thing that an iPhone 15 does. These $12 shirts that I get at Old Navy I like better than anything I could buy from Gucci or whatever other brands.

The end result of my choosing not to spend money on elaborate and unnecessary things is that I can instead take that money, save it, and invest it in a way that's actually going to benefit me in the future. Like an $80,000 car will only be worth $5,000 or maybe $10,000 in 10 years' time, but if instead you buy a $15,000 car and take that other $65,000 and invest it, in 10 years' time it could be worth $175,000. I don't know about you guys, but I know which one I'd rather have. To me, being rich doesn't mean going on four vacations a year and having an $800 toaster on your kitchen counter. It means having comfort and security, having options, having the ability to decide how you want to spend your time, and having the luxury to take emergencies and turn them into just mild inconveniences.

I'll give you a little story here. A few years ago, I had a small incident. I was leaving the house one day and I went out through the garage as I often do. When I hit the button to close the garage door, the garage door opener came crashing down. It fell off the wall and caught on the garage door that was kind of half open and half closed at the time, and it scared the hell out of me. Honestly, if it had hit me in the head, it could have really seriously hurt me. Thankfully, I was not in the line of fire, but it dented the garage door, the garage door opener was hanging down, it was jammed, I was all freaked out, I didn't know what to do, and I had to call in an emergency service call. That service call cost me $200.

Of course, I can think of way more fun ways to spend $200 than just on a service call for my garage door, but I remember in that moment feeling this overwhelming sense of gratitude to know that I had the $200. Coming up with it on the spot was not going to be a hardship of any sort. It was not going to affect my ability to cover my other bills. I could take a situation that otherwise could have been very scary and stressful and just deal with it. You know, a garage door is not something I'm going to personally mess with myself, so to be able to just call a professional and say, "Hey, I really need you to come out and take a look at this for me," and to be able to just pay him and deal with it—I remember in that moment thinking, "Wow, this must be what it feels like to be rich." To be able to take on this problem and have the money to just deal with it on the spot.

Because when I was younger, if we needed a service call or something broke, it was a big deal to have to get it fixed. It was a big deal to come up with that money. To me, that feeling of being able to

just comfortably deal with life's problems as they arise—that is true wealth. And in order to achieve that wealth, you really have to prioritize spending your money on things that will get you there, which means not spending money on things that don't matter or on things that you can't afford.

So, in summary, I guess you could say that I have spent the majority of my life, especially since starting my journey into personal finance, really, really looking poor. I'm okay with that because that is how I am going to get rich and stay rich. You know what? You can look as poor as you want. I don't mind. I have enough money to buy a hundred expensive things right now, but I have no desire to do so. I don't have that mindset. I am absolutely okay with looking poor because I know that my future is rich.