• Ark's Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Why I Am Raising Kids in China and NOT the USA | The Reasons Will Shock You!

Why I Am Raising Kids in China and NOT the USA | The Reasons Will Shock You!

From the American Dream to the Chinese Dream: A Personal Journey

I have decided to raise my kids in China and not the USA for many reasons. Although I wish my home country were a better fit, it’s just not at this time. I do a deep dive into the reasons in this video. I hope you enjoy it! Let me know if you agree or disagree with the reasons

I've given up. That's right, I've given up on the American dream I used to dream about in the States. To me, it meant raising kids who are happy, healthy, and thriving, but America is just not a good fit for that anymore. What country is it? China. That's right. Now I'm going for something I call the Chinese dream. I’m going to tell you the reasons why.

The first point is infrastructure. America is living in the past, while China is living in the future. If I were living in America, my kids would be dependent on me to drive them everywhere because America is designed totally for cars. In China, I can trust that my kid can take the subway, buses, and trains, use bike lanes, and walk on sidewalks. In America, the subway is outdated, unsafe, dirty, and not enjoyable. There are very few bike lanes, very few buses, and the sidewalks are far and few. In Beijing, I can feel safe sending my kids out and letting them become wonderful, independent individuals. But are they safe doing that? This brings me to my next point: safety.

As for safety, I want to live in a place where I can feel like I can send my kids out the door and let them play with their friends, even when it’s dark. I see this happening in Beijing. Kids are out and about when it’s dark, without parents around, and they look happy and carefree. How can I know my kids won’t get scooped up by some psycho in a white van? In Beijing, there are people everywhere, so there are always eyes on my kids. Comparing this to my childhood, when I was growing up, my mom would let my friend and I walk down the street to rent videos. We rarely saw anyone, so nobody was watching us. I remember a woman once frantically warning us about a man ahead who kept looking back at us. We detoured, likely saved by a guardian angel. In Beijing, people are watching, and there are cameras everywhere. Beijing has cameras that cover 100% of public space. Can you believe it? Literally 100%.

My next point is racism. I’m sharing a screenshot that went viral on Reddit. It’s about an Asian kid who grew up in a predominantly white town in the States and was made fun of every single day at school. No one wanted to be his friend because he was constantly made fun of. I personally saw this happen and regret not standing up for these kids. Adults in the United States can be hateful towards other races and cultures. In China, although people might call me “lao wai” or “guo ren,” it’s out of curiosity, not hate. I want my kids to grow up in a place where they can feel comfortable and accepted.

In school, I want my kids to be in an environment where they flourish. Respectful kids make a big difference. In China, 1,600 years ago, a book featuring the idiom “尊师重道” (respect your teachers) was written. In America, no such idiom or practice exists. I saw kids misbehave and backtalk to teachers, distracting everyone. In China, kids are respectful, focusing on what matters—the content. My kids will learn and absorb things without distractions. Being in China, they’ll be immersed in the language, which is crucial as they are Chinese. They will learn better here than in the states, where resources for learning Chinese are lacking.

Beijing is very international. There are roughly 200,000 foreigners here. I constantly meet people from all over the world. The states are considered a melting pot, but people often stick to their communities. In Beijing, foreigners easily make friends with other foreigners. This international environment is fabulous, with 100,000 international restaurants offering authentic cuisine. This is what I want for my kids—to feel connected to the world while living in one place.

China is very kid-friendly. Malls in China are thriving, unlike in the States. Malls here are huge and always have a floor dedicated to kids’ stuff, with fabulous food options. Kid-friendly places are affordable, which brings me to my next point: the cost of living. It’s very affordable in China, with prices about half what they are in the West. This means you can spend more, do more, eat more, and see more without the constant anxiety of checking your bank account.

Traveling in China is affordable. For example, a roundtrip ticket from Beijing to Sanya can cost about 1,143 RMB, which is roughly the distance from New Orleans to New York. Hotels like the Hilton cost about $80 a night. Traveling within China immerses you in the culture, language, and people. China has over 5,000 years of history, offering a rich cultural experience. Living in China, my kids get to experience this fully.

Lastly, there are fewer natural disasters in Beijing compared to my hometown. Growing up, I faced hurricanes frequently, including Hurricane Katrina. Evacuating and worrying about whether our house would still be there was stressful. In Beijing, occasional earthquakes occur, but they are hardly felt. This stability is a far better environment for raising kids. I’m thankful for the stability of Beijing.

That’s all, you guys. If you liked this article, like, comment, and please subscribe. It helps so much. If you want to see something in particular, leave a comment and let me know. I read all of them. Until next time, bye-bye.